Agarwal Book Prize

Suraj Mal and Shyama Devi Agarwal Book Prize

 The Suraj Mal and Shyama Devi Agarwal Book Prize is awarded biennially for a work of original scholarship in the field of feminist economics.

The prize has been established by Bina Agarwal (IAFFE’s first President from the Global South) to honor her late parents, who, throughout their lives and with great generosity, supported young women to pursue their dreams of higher education, and chart out a path of intellectual excellence.

The Prize carries an honorarium of $1,000 USD and a citation describing the book’s merits, written by the Prize Committee. An additional amount (up to $1,500) will be available to assist in covering the Prize recipient’s expenses to attend the Prize ceremony at the IAFFE Annual Conference. The Prize recipient will be invited to make a presentation or participate in an event at such conference related to the subject of the book. If there are two authors of the winning book, they will share the honorarium as well as the travel support.

The 2023 Prize will be presented at the 2023 IAFFE Annual Conference.  Subsequent Prizes will be presented every other year at the IAFFE Annual Conference.


This website uses cookies to enhance the browsing experience. By continuing you give us permission to deploy cookies as per our privacy and cookies policy.