Officers & Committees

The International Society for Ecological Economics operates in accordance with a Constitution, and a set of Bylaws, adopted by its members. All officers are elected or appointed by the elected Board. The Board consists of the President, past-President, President-elect and nine additional board members, two of whom are ex officio – the Treasurer, and the Editor in Chief of the journal Ecological Economics. The Board meets in person or by telephone at least twice a year. An Executive Committee consisting of the Presidents and Treasurer meets as frequently as necessary to operate the Society.

Clovis CavalcantiPresident
Clóvis Cavalcanti
Professor at the Federal University of Pernambuco
Researcher at the Joaquim Nabuco Foundation, both in Recife (Brazil)
Honorary President of the Brazilian Society for Ecological Economics (ECOECO)

Sabine O'HaraPast-President
Sabine O’Hara
Past President USSEE
Dean & Director of Land-grant Programs, College of Agriculture, Urban Sustainability and Environmental Sciences (CAUSES), Washington, DC

Joshua Farley
PhD, Ag/Resource/Managerial Economics, Cornell University
MIA, Economic & Political Development, Columbia University
BA, Biology, Grinnell College

Anne Carter AitkenTreasurer
Anne Carter Aitken
Executive Director, International Society for Ecological Economics
Managing Editor, Ecological Economics

Richard HowarthEditor
Richard Howarth
Professor of Environmental Studies Dartmouth College
Editor-in-Chief, Ecological Economics

ISEE Board Members

The current Board Members are listed below and will serve through December 2019.

Bernardo AguilarBernardo Aguilar
Executive Director, Fundación Neotrópica, Costa Rica
Adjunct Faculty, Northern Arizona University, USA

David Barkin
Profesor de Economía
Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana-Xochimilco

Eva-CudlinovaEva Cudlinova
Associated Professor
University of South Bohemia,
Faculty of Economics, Ceske Budejovice

Jasper KenterJasper Kenter
University of York

Tatiana Kluvankova-OravskaTatiana Kluvankova
Professor of management and head of the department of Strategic Environmental Analyses at the SPECTRA Centre of Excellence, Bratislava, associated with the Slovak Academy of Sciences and the Slovak University of Technology

Volker Mauerhofer

Volker Mauerhofer
Midsweden University/Sweden

Peter MayPeter H. May
Professor of the Department of Development, Agriculture and Society of the Federal Rural University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil


Madhavi Venkatesan

Madhavi Venkatesan
Assistant Teaching Professor in the Department of Economics at Northeastern University, Boston, Massachusetts


Presidents and Past ISEE Presidents

NameDates ServedTitle
Joshua Farley, PhD2020 - 2021President-Elect
Clóvis Cavalcanti2018 - 2019President
Sabine O'Hara2016 - 2017Past-President
Marina Fischer-Kowalski2014 - 2015Past-President
Bina Agarwal2012 - 2013Past-President
John Gowdy2010 - 2011Past-President
Peter May2008 - 2009Past-President
Joan Martinez-Alier2006 - 2007Past-President
Charles Perrings2004 - 2005Past-President
John Proops2002 - 2003Past-President
Richard Norgaard1998-2001Past-President
Robert Constanza1989 - 1997Past-President

Membership and journal subscription information, financial services, and elections processing are provided by the Secretariat, Director Anne Aitken.  Email the Secretariat